5 minute apple crisp

This week started off with me being a wee bit sick, so I have been planted on the couch, eating saltines and drinking Sprite. While confined to the couch, I have been watching BBC’s version of Charles Dickens Great Expectations and dreaming of real food. I started to run through the recommended list of “upset stomach” foods and I remembered that I had some apples, and oats that needed to put to use. Apples fall delightfully into the upset stomach diet, especially if they have been cooked down. So to the kitchen I headed. I cut up a Braeburn apple, poured a tiny bit of water in a pot, and let the apples begin to simmer. I then added about 1/3 tbsp of butter, a sprinkle of cinnamon and a sprinkle of brown sugar. I let the apples cook down for about 5 min and then added some oats and a dash of sea salt. Being that this is the first food I have eaten since yesterday, I am quite possibly in love. : ) A quick, easy, not too sweet “crisp” that is light enough for an upset stomach and enjoyable enough for a happy one. : )

20130813-232747.jpg

Leave a Reply

