Favorites of 2013: Book Shelf, Favorite Fiction

Hello friends!

I thought it would be fun to do sort of a  wrap up of all my favorites from this year, from books, to movies, to beauty products, to favorite recipes, and finally favorite discoveries of the year. 2013 was a year I’ll never forget, filled with lots of great discoveries and adventures, and lots of prayer and unfortunately, stress. But that’s for another post. : )

Let’s talk books, shall we?

You can never read a good book without a good cup of tea.
You can never read a good book without a good cup of tea.

Favorite Fiction:

I am a huge fiction lover, and this year proved to provide some great new reads. Although I didn’t read as many books as I normally try to in a year, it was a year of good reads, nonetheless. 

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

A hilarious, sarcastic, oddly sweet novel. I literally laughed out loud at some parts of this novel. Definitely made me want to sample more of Semple’s writing.

The Likeness, Faithful Place, Broken Harbor,  all by Tana French 

Oh, Tana French. I ADORE her writing. Deliciously mysterious, distinctly Irish, dangerously addicting. I read In the Woods by her last year, and was instantly hooked. Devoured these in no time at all. I heard she is coming out with a fifth book in this series? I’m really hoping that’s true.

The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes

I really want to love this book. I’ve gone back to it several times, trying to finish. Starts off supper intriguing and mysterious, and then somewhere in the middle drops off. Oddly enough, I find myself always wondering how it ends. Another Irish novel, Keyes being one of the first chick lit writers of her age. Hoping to finish this soon to be able to review it better.

When We Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro

No book of Ishiguro’s will ever compare to Never Let Me Go, as beautiful as that was, it’s hard to look at all of his books the same. That being said, When We Were Orphans  has the same very decided, matter of fact, slightly heartbreaking voice. It’s amazing the way he writes in such a beautiful voice. Love his books, and  plan on reading the Remains of the Day next year.

The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons

Sweet, heartbreaking, hopeful. Loved this one. If you like war-torn era based novels, and grand houses, you’ll like this one.

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Although I hate every movie they have ever made of this book, I LOVED the actual book. Read through it in a week. Definitely became my second favorite to Emma, which is my favorite Austen book.

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I am a huge fan of the BBC TV version of Sherlock Holmes. Benedict Cumberbatch is seriously perfect as Sherlock. This book has some of cases from the show (which I think is way better than any of the movies, however hilarious Robert Downey Jr. is), plus a truly creepy case called “The Yellow Face”. Loved this book! Planning on reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes next.

Fiction I’m still working on:

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath 

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (I’ll be reading this for the next five years at least.) 

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

There you have it, the fiction I most loved from this year. Next up, I’ll be reviewing my favorite non fiction, memoir, and essay books from the year. If you are a book lover, I’d love to hear your favorites from this year!

xo, Steffanie

Leave a Reply

