blueberry crisp.

ImageImageImage

Perhaps one of my favorite things to do on a cold snowy day, besides the obvious lounging around with a good book and cup of tea, is  to bake. I love to bake and cook. Baking is more my preference, because I like the structure of it, the precision. I do like a little improvisation too, which makes this blueberry crisp recipe one of my favorites to make. It is super easy, super quick, and super delicious.

The recipe is adapted from the book Bread & Wine by Shauna Niequist, one of my favorite authors, whom I mentioned in this post. I made it several times last year, and also made a tiny one this past month for Tucker and I to share. This crisp is gluten free, butter, egg and flour free, and only uses 5 ingredients. It’s the healthiest form of crisp I have seen and it’s downright delicious. My husband loves it because aside from the tiny amount of maple syrup, it qualifies for his “no cheat meal” diet. Win!

Blueberry Crisp

  • 3-4 cups of fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 c maple syrup
  • 1/3 c olive oil
  • 1/2 c chopped pecans or walnuts. 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Layer blueberries in an 8 x 8 oven safe pan (I used my 9 x 9 Le Creuset dish so I made a little more crisp to cover the extra area) and then top with the crisp mixture. Bake for about 30-40 minutes, or until blueberries are bubbling and the crisp is slightly browned. And voila! It’s done.This recipe is so versatile and easily doubles for more people to enjoy. Sometimes I use honey instead of maple syrup, or brown sugar. Sometimes, I use coconut oil or grapeseed oil instead of olive, as well. It’s endlessly adaptable, and also pairs well with other fruit like peaches or apples.

Let me know if you give this a try! It’s one of our favorite desserts in our home!

Love and snow and crisp,

Steffanie xo

One thought on “blueberry crisp.

Leave a Reply

