Uncategorized

in which we discuss community, soup, and the importance of sharing

Image

I love people. I am a huge extrovert, constantly telling others that I have a people need. I crave community, thrive in conversation. For a long season in my life, however, I wasn’t like that. I hid from people, opting for novels and their people, instead of the ones surrounding me. It was a hard season, one fraught with high levels of anxiety and fear. I was miserable, unable to allow myself to be vulnerable, to share. 

Through gentle pressure and a lot of prayer, I slowly began to share how lost I was feeling. First with family, and then with close friends and people in my church community. And I was astonished by the grace, love, and encouragement I was given. We are meant to do this life together. To live our lives connected with people who love us, want the best for us, and who challenge us to be better at loving and grace. The way I was living, in fear of someone finding out my insecurities and worries, was a grace-less way of living. I believed what Satan was telling, that no one would understand and that I did not deserve grace or love.

I don’t deserve either of those, and that is what makes them so beautiful. I believe God created in me this “people need” because He knew how much I would rely on my community when I finally realized how beautiful connected-ness is. He knew that I would be a person in love with people and stories and the change that happens when we choose to do life together, not separate. 

This past weekend consisted of: dinners with friends, old and new, coffee with one of the wisest women I have met, snuggles with a sweet newborn, and board games on a snowy Sunday afternoon. Homemade soup, time with my husband, and lots of writing. It was a weekend full of laughter, stories, connection and I am so thankful for that. I am so thankful for my community, my people, the stories unfolding in our lives that we are able to share with one another. 

I believe our lives are meant to be shared, to have people around us to tell us the hard truth, to love us, to laugh with us, to cry with us. 

I pray that you have people in your life that you can connect with, to share your life with, to be in community with. It is so important and so life-changing. Plan a dinner, a movie night, a coffee meet-up and keep the appointment. Be honest, real, free, and allow God to work in your relationships. 

Here’s to happiness, friendship & community. To those in my community, thank you for being my people.

Steffanie xo

PS. I will post the soup recipe later this week, for those who asked. : )

Leave a Reply

