share it.

Image
 
 
“Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself to others. Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life. 

Be very sure now, that you have been trained to a self-sufficient maturity, that you enter into a generous common life with those who have trained you, sharing all the good things you have and experience.”
-Galatians 6:4-6 Message 
 

One of the big themes in my life right now is all about sharing. Being a little bit vulnerable in the things that matter, the things that you are passionate about. The world needs us to be people who are brave, vulnerable, and passionate. How much better is a life lived for something that shakes us up, moves us, compels us? 

I have people surrounding me who are creative, artists, big believers in sharing their talents. My sister is an amazing artist. She has a creative mind that not many have, and she loves it. She shares her work with others, she gets paid for her beautiful work. She puts herself at risk to be judged and for her work to be criticized, but she is brave and she does it anyway. She believes in her work and she knows that the world needs it, and that she needs it. I am surrounded by singers, dancers, writers, people committed to health and fellowship, believers in the beauty of our world. Photographers, painters, bloggers, readers. And I am so thankful for their work and their ability to share it. For several of my family members who sing at churches, leading us in praise of our beautiful God. For the friends who, for hours, can sit with us, around our table, in a living room, and do life with us. I am thankful for the beauty that comes from sharing.

Just recently, I began to share my writing with people close to me. I have always been a blogger, but when it came time to writing a book, I put it off. I have nothing to say. I’m too young. I’m inexperienced. Through the bravery of my friends, my family and my husband, I am seeing that our world needs more creativity, more thought, more intention. I kept seeing so many people around go out and achieve the things they wanted and I wondered what was keeping me back. What am I not pursuing this? Why do I not believe that my voice matters too? So I decided to change my thinking. I decided to write a book, and to share it with others. To let other’s into that scary, close space, to allow people to give me feedback (eek!) and to allow other’s to see the work I am passionate about.

More than anything, our God wants us to share our stuff. Our creative pursuits, certainly, but also our lives. I talked about the importance of community in one of my last post’s but it is something that is hitting me at the core lately. We are designed to share our lives, our work, our dreams. How boring would our lives be if we didn’t? How much richer would your life be if you did? If you shared that passion, that idea, that one thing that is about to burst out your heart? 

It’s scary and it is hard and it takes a huge amount of courage. But I promise you, with all that I know, that it is worth it. And you will be so much better for it. Dream together. Believe together. Create together. Share your work and believe in the cause. God needs you to, the world needs you to, and I need you to. 

Here’s to being brave and to sharing this life that our God gave us. 

Steffanie xo

One thought on “share it.

  1. I love you and I’m excited to see how God continues to move and your life and see you and read your book!

Leave a Reply

