the story of the no-bake.

Image

A few years ago I tried making this cookie for my husband. It is one of his favorites, and being the eager girlfriend I was, I wanted to prove my baking finesse by making it for him. I imagined his adoration of my fine baking skills upon tasting his favorite childhood cookie, baked by the hands of the girl he loved. I was so sure of myself. 

It was a disaster. My “cookie” turned out to be more of a granola, and while it tasted good enough, it definitely did not resemble anything near a cookie. I am not completely sure what happened that fateful day, but I failed at making the cookie. My husband was very supportive, doing the proper boyfriend thing of soldering on and eating it anyway. To his advantage, it was very good. On top of ice cream, in cereal, etc. But it was not a cookie.

Image

 

Since that day, oh so many years ago, I believe I have mastered the cookie. I have restored myself to my baking glory, regained my husband’s faith in my cookie making skills, and reveled in my victory. I made the cookie and it was good. 

So here it is. The recipe that restored my love for the no bake, the recipe that restored my faith in my baking skills. My husband loves it, my Lifegroup loved them, and I think you will too. 

 Image

No Bake Cookies 

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter
  • 2 c sugar 
  • 4 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 1/2 c peanut butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 cups quick cooking oats

1. Add the first four ingredients to a 4 QT. saucepan.

2. Bring to a rolling boil and let boil for one minute (sometimes I do about two, just to make sure the ingredients are all mixed well.) 

3. Remove from heat; add the peanut butter and vanilla. Mix until smooth. 

4. Add oats, and stir until combined. Drop by heaping spoonfuls on parchment wax paper.

5. Let cool until cookies are firm. Serve with a cold iced coffee or hot tea. : )

**recipe slightly adapted from thebrowneyedbaker.com

Happy Baking!

Steffanie xo

 

Leave a Reply

