Beauty · Lifestyle

My Workout Essentials

Hey all! So recently I have been trying to be more disciplined and stick to a regular workout schedule/healthier lifestyle. Less pizza, less sugar, more fruits and veggies. I’ll share my favorite protein-juice smoothie blend (think kale, hemp protein, lots of berries, celery, lemon), and also the workout regime I have been enjoying later on, but for now I’ll share my favorite workout bits that I have been loving.

DSC04090

After many hours spent on my bum watching the World Cup, and many hours reading, I decided that I need a bit of activity in my life, on the regular. Here is what reach for during and after those sweaty sessions.

DSC04086

1. Asics Running Shoes

I’m not an expert in running shoes, by any means. But for some reason, Asics seem to work the best for my feet when it comes to running. I don’t experience the annoying shin split type problems with them, nor do they make my toes feel like they might fall off. I do love Nike Free Run’s, because of how comfortable they are, and I do wear them for strength training. But I have not found them to be the best running shoes for me, so instead I opt for Asics. 

2. St. Ives Even & Bright Facial Scrub

After a sweaty workout sessions, nothing feels better than a good face wash. I regularly use a face mask about 1-2 times a week, but after a work out, I feel a little exfoliating, good cleaning is in order. Lately, I’ve been loving this one from St. Ives. It smells great, is almost sticky to the touch and is very exfolitating. It just gives your skin a little glow, makes it clean and fresh feeling. I use this in addition to my regular skin care regime.

DSC04089

3. Homemade Deodorant

Obviously, we all want to smell good after a long workout session. Usually, I would opt for a Dove deodorant and antiperspirant, (they smell so good!) but that was before I knew how unhealthy antiperspirants are for our bodies. Our bodies were created to sweat, to detoxify themselves on their own when the heart gets pumping. The purpose of an antiperspirant, while helpful when not working out, can actually prevent your body from detoxifying during a workout. Which means, your body keeps all the toxins in, instead of pushing them out. So, instead of going for a store bought deodorant, I use this homemade version that my sister made for me. Made with coconut oil, arrowroot flour, orange essential oil, and baking soda, this deo gets the job done. It smells great and is strangely exfoliating. It will last for ages as well. I’ve had it for about a month or so already, and i have barely made a dent in it. 

4. Sonia Kashuk Moisture+ Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 15

I don’t usually put on makeup to get my workout on. However, if I already have it on, I’m not going to waste it and wash it all off, if I am planning on going somewhere later. This tinted moisturizer is the best, I find, to wear if you are a makeup wearing work-outer (??) It’s light, but with a matte coverage and incredibly moisturizing. It has SPF, in case you are out in the sun for a run…or fun. 🙂 I love this stuff, and have used it pretty much everyday of summer since I purchased it a month ago. 

5. Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Dry Shampoo

This dry shampoo is much better than the Dove one I previously spoke about. I am in love with this stuff.  It has a lighter texture, and doesn’t leave a chalky residue in my hair. Nor does it have that white residue left after I spray it on. It smells great, it works great, and it’s only $4.00! I use this anytime my hair starts to feel a bit greasy after a workout. Being that I don’t wash my hair everyday, I opt for this whenever I need a spruce.

6. Ed Hardy Love & Luck Perfume

I love the Ed Hardy perfum that is in the pink bottle. It smells amazing and sweet and girly. This one, is a little more musky, with a slight citronella note. It isn’t usually a scent I’d go for, but I swear I get compliments on it every time I wear it. It smells fresh and a bit like spring, and I love it. I got mine at TJ MAAX for about $15, which is a huge steal. 

DSC04091

7. Blender Bottle, 12 oz.

Last but not least, a good water bottle. I saw this bottle a couple weeks ago, and mentioned to my husband that I loved it. He brought one home the next day, filled with Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Minis. Sigh. He knows my heart so well. This bottle is amazing. I use it for my smoothies, water, and Powerade if I need an electrolyte boost. It cleans easy, is dishwasher safe, and is hot pink! We do have the full size ones at home, but I like this for a carry-with-me size bottle. I fill it up quite a lot too, which makes me feel like I am drinking more water. 

 

That’s it! Those are my workout essentials! Let me know that you like to use for your workout sessions, in the gym or at home. Have you tried any of these products? Also, let me know what your preferred workout is. Running? Yoga? Circuits? Let me know in the comments below. 

2 thoughts on “My Workout Essentials

  1. I’m just now reading this, but let me say my piece.

    Are you SURE it’s a better dry shampoo?! I love the Dove! haha.

    Also. I just need to share my grief. I had a blender bottle just like that (the Herbalife version… not that I do that anymore, nor ever will again), but I left it in DC, and instead of mailing it to me, I think they just threw it away. I mourn this loss daily as I have yet to buy a new one two months later!

    I’m going to try that tinted moisturizer I thinks.

    1. LOL Jill. I like the dry shampoo better, but that’s just because it’s not as powdery as the Dove. It’s more like a really good hairspray/dry shampoo/texturizer. They sell Blender Bottles at Marshalls for like $7!! 🙂 I got a few for Tucker from there. The tinted moisturizer is good, but it breaks me out. 😦 So I have to stop using it.

Leave a Reply

