Beauty

July Beauty Favorites

DSC04094

July was a great month for makeup. I didn’t try anything new that you probably haven’t already heard of, but they were definitely products that were new to me. Let’s chat about them, shall we?

DSC04100

First up, foundation.

Makeup Forever HD High Definition Foundation in the shade N155. 

I’m kind of cheating with this one because I didn’t actually use it all month long. I’ve only been using it for about two days, but I wanted to add it in here because I am so excited about it! I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this foundation (mostly rave reviews from Anna, over at viviannadoesmakeup.com) and I had some money to spend so I went for it. I don’t typically spend alot of money on makeup, because there are so many good options at the drugstore that I don’t feel the need to make a regular trip to Sephora. But I almost always go for the higher end face bases. I have incredibly sensitive, acne prone skin, so I’m almost guaranteed to break out with any drugstore foundation that I try. So when I had a little extra in the pocketbook, I decided to go for a new face base.This is magical. It’s a full coverage, slightly matte finish foundation. I seriously feel like a movie star when I have this one on. It covers everything, and somehow makes you look like you aren’t wearing any makeup at all. It’s smooth, easy to apply, and one pump takes care of my entire face. It’s light enough for everyday, and it can be applied sheer if you really worked it in with a small pump. So far, I haven’t had any breakouts or any odd dry patches, which sometimes happens when I try new foundations. Absolute love.

DSC04106

 

Revlon ColorStay Moisture Stain in the shades Rio Rush, LA Exclusive and London Posh (as pictured above). 

Okay, so I know these are a bit of a love it or hate it product in the beauty world. When these first came out, I was so obsessed with the Maybelline Color Elixirs that I didn’t pay any attention. But, as always, I found myself intrigued by the lipgloss/stain effect of these, so I just had to pick one up. I tried London Posh first, thinking that because it was a neutral it was a safe choice. I’m not going to lie, at first, I actually hated the formula of these. They take alot of getting used to, and I’m not sure how to explain it, but they are almost slippery but thick kind of glosses? They apply pretty thick, but it’s sort of a pain to get them applied without looking streaky on the lips.They take some work. Once you get them applied well, they look fantastic, but it does take some getting used to. I love LA Exclusive, and have worn it for the past week and a half straight. All in all, I like them, and love the color payoff, just wish the formula was a bit better to handle.

DSC04101

 

Urban Decay Naked Flush Palette in Streak

Oh my heavens. This is the most genius product I own. A bronzer, blush, and highlight all in one gorgeous package? Heck yes. I’ve had my eye on this beauty for a while, since they came out. I am a big cheek and highlight person, rarely ever leaving my house without at least a little something on the cheeks. This palette is gorgeous and perfect and amazing. Can I say anything bad about it? Nope, not at all. They come in three different shades at the moment, and I picked up Streak. The bronzer, even though it looked a bit too light for me, somehow give the perfect hint of life to my cheeks.The highlight is a beautiful champagne-y pink color, and the blush is the most perfect coral, peachy pink. I am in love with this palette, and I will definitely be saving up for another one when this runs out.

DSC04097

Tarte Lights Camera Lashes Mascara

Do I even need to say anything about how amazing Tarte is at making beautiful natural products? This mascara is so good. Like I mentioned before, I don’t tend to spend alot on makeup other than for face bases. I’m usually good with L’Oreal or Maybelline for the lashes, but I wanted to try this out and see what all the fuss is about. And, I like it. I don’t think there is a huge difference between it and drugstore mascara, except that it comes in an awesome package, and that it is all natural and cruelty free. It lenghtens and volumizes and generally works really well. I wish it was waterproof, but I do know that Tarte makes a waterproof mascara. All in all, good mascara.

Revlon Brow Fantasy in Dark Brown

I have very sparse brows. They look almost grey when I don’t have any product in them, and let’s be honest, that’s not a good look on anyone. So I fill them in. This has been one of my favorite products since I began to actually pay attention to my brows. It’s cheap, it works well, and it has both a pencil and a gel in it. I think the shade is a tad too dark for me, and I meant to pick up medium when I went, but as along as I don’t go too crazy with it, it works great. Definitely recommend these to anyone who needs a good brow product.

L’Oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lashes in Black Lacquer

One of the best mascaras I have used lately. Definitely a more dramatic lash product, and the packaging is just gorgeous. It makes my lashes longer, fuller, thicker and dramatic. I wish I had bought the waterproof version, just because I do suffer from the odd raccoon eye every now and again, but I will pick that up next time.

And last but not least, nails.

Essie Nail Polish in Tarte Deco and Cute as a Button

Pretty summer shades. Essie makes the best polish. It lasts, great color range and payoff. Tarte Deco is a pale orange-y, coral and CAAB is a pretty, perfect pink. Have worn them on and off all month.

Whew! That was quite a bit of typing. July has been a great month for beauty for myself, and I am so excited about the products I’ve found. Any new releases or mentions that have you raving? Let me know  in the comments!

Steffanie xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

