Beauty

Blush 101

DSC04179

I am a huge fan of the a rosy cheek. It’s my beauty trademark, if you will. I’m not a huge eye shadow girl, not a huge cat eye or bold lip girl, but I do love a good pop of color on the cheeks. I used to take the blushers way too far back in the high school days, often resembling a beetroot or scary doll. Thank goodness that I learned a few tricks to be able to pull off my favorite beauty look.

DSC04181
From left: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush in “Blissful”; Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush in “Natural Beauty”; Nars “Orgasm”; Nyx Blush in “Dusty Rose”; Sephora Brand Blush in “Pink Pop”; Urban Decay Naked Flush palette in “Streak” (middle).

Now, I am by no means an expert on makeup or application of makeup. I’m just going to tell you what works for me. I’ve sort of perfected my blush routine over the years, and the first tip I have for all you beauties is to find a good quality blush and a god blush brush. Now, quality does not always mean expensive. I have a NYX blush that I adore, and it only cost around $5 at my local drugstore, and I love it just as much as my higher priced Tarte blushes. And my favorite blush brush is from Real Techniques and cost around $8 at Ulta. Try out a few drugstore brands, and try on the higher end ones in store to get a feel for what you like.

I tend to look for blushes that carry a good pop of color that will look natural on my skin. Which is my next advice, find a good color. Being that I have a yellow undertone to my complexion, and I range around the medium tone, I am lucky to have a good range of color to pick from. For my complexion, peachy-pinks look the most natural on my skin. Reds and bright pinks are also good, but I am just extra careful to keep the rest of my look minimal on the days I opt for those shades. Corals/oranges are a stretch, so I don’t go for those too often, because they usually end up way too much for me. Nudes don’t show up, so I don’t go for those either. You’ll want a color that gives you just enough of a healthy glow, just enough to make your cheeks pop. Don’t go all all high school Steffanie on your cheeks.

DSC04182

Thirdly, find which formula works for you. I am not a cream blush girl. As you will see above, all of my blushes are powder. They last a lot longer, I don’t have to worry about them as much, and they are easy to apply. Cream blushes are sort of a nightmare for me, being that I have incredibly oily skin and I have almost always broken out with a cream blush. Anna, over at viviannadoesmakeup.com did a wonderful post over cream blush formulas for all skin types, if you need some good recommendations.

And last but not least, practice applying it. No one likes the streaky cheek look. I apply my blush to the apples of the cheeks or just outside of them (it helps that the apples of my cheeks are a bit pudgy, making applying blush so easy!) Blush is not for contouring, bronzer is. Just a pop of blush on each of the apples should do. Remember, if you are new to blush, practice makes perfect. Find the products that work for you, the color you like, and the formula and get to blushing.

DSC04194
Bathroom selfie! Wearing the Makeup Forever HD Foundation in 155, Sephora Brand Blush in Pink Pop, Nyx Butter Gloss in Vanilla Cream Pie, Urdan Decay Naked Flushed palette in Streak (bronzer and hilighter) and Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara. And my husband’s baseball tee. 🙂

Do you like blush? What are some of your favorites? Are you a cream or a powder? Let me know!

Rosy cheeked gals for the win!

Steffanie xo

 

5 thoughts on “Blush 101

  1. I love this post; it’s true about blush just like it’s true about most makeup – practice may not make perfect, but it sure makes better! My two favorite blushes are Swiss Dot by theBalm, and Luminous Flush by Hourglass. They’re both pretty toned-down and are good for lighter skin tones.

    1. Thank you Amber! And that is some truth, there! I still am so crap at doing eye liner, but practice makes it easier. I’ll have to give a look at the Hourglass one. I know they make amazing face products, so I’ll have to look into it. Thanks for the recommendations and for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

