Let them eat cake.

Image

I love to bake. That is no surprise to you all, I’m sure, judging from my posts on Instagram. Lately, I have been craving the delicous-ness that is Lemon Drizzle Cake, all.the.time. I mean it’s getting a bit ridiculous, but trust me when I say, this cake is just delicious. Crumbly, buttery, thick, and lemon-y, it’s the perfect afternoon tea recipe, and the most perfect cake for summer. I have made this recipe sixΒ times (!!!) since I have discovered it, which is borderline obsessive, but I have shared with friends and family. Recently, I gave some to my sister, who absolutely adores this cake as much as I do. I also woke up to an empty pan of cake crumbles, after my husband decided to “taste” it. πŸ™‚

I first discovered the recipe via Anna from viviannadoesmakeup.com. She talks about her mum making it all the time, and even posted a video of her making it, which I will link here. (Thanks Anna for sharing!)

Make this soon, for your friends, your family or significant other. They will love you forever.

Lemon Drizzle CakeΒ 

For the cake:

1 cup butter, room temperature

1 cup castor or baker’s sugar (a very finely grained sugar–can be found at most grocery stores.)

1 1/2 cup self rising flour, sifted

1 tsp baking powder

4 eggs

4 tbsp milk

Zest of two lemons

For the drizzle:

Juice of Two Lemons

3/4 cup granulated sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease baking tin, or cake pan, 8×8 in. Mix all cake ingredients together. Bake for about 40-50 minutes (my oven cooks faster than most) or until top is golden brown (insert knife into middle of cake; when it comes out clean, it’s done). Poke holes in top cake, and mix up the drizzle. Pour over top of the cake and let set for about 10 minutes. I don’t always use all of the drizzle mix, because it makes quite alot and I don’t feel like it needs all of it. Like I said, I like my drizzle to be liquid-y and not quite like icing, so that it soaks into the cake, making it all the more moist and delicious. Cut into small squares and serve with a strong cup of Yorkshire Gold or PG Tips tea.

Happy Baking!

Steffanie xo

3 thoughts on “Let them eat cake.

Leave a Reply

