Hair Dye at Home

 

DSC04400

I’ve been known to be quite fickle with my hair when it comes to color. I used to have it dyed twice a year, right before each semester, to ensure the start of my semester with gorgeously shiny, healthy looking hair. That rarely ever happened with other dye kits I’ve used, so I always ended up going to my hair girl due to the unsavory reaction my scalp tended to have to home dye kits. My hair felt like straw, my scalp itched constantly, and the color was less than fantastic. I was quickly losing hope in the lack of results I was getting from home dye.

And then.

I discovered L’Oreal Healthy Look Creme Gloss. 

DSC04290

Holy wow, this stuff is amazing. Running for about $9.99 a box, it is the only ammonia free home dye kit I’ve come across. Which means, no strong, eye-burning smell, and no itchy scalp! Big yes! I have naturally very dark hair, but every now and then I like to refresh it a bit. This time around, I went for the color Black Currant, which is described as a Vibrant Darkest Auburn from the Red Luscious range. With just a hint of red undertones, my hair is shiny, vibrant, and so soft. No insanely dry, straw like hair, and no itchiness, which is huge if you know my hair dilemmas in that area (see this post.)

DSC04344

This kit produced a healthy, shiny, and super soft mane for me, and I could not be more pleased with the color payoff from it. The reddish tint only really shows up outside, but I am totally okay with that. My faith has been restored in at home dye kits, specifically this one, and although I won’t do it more than about once a year or so, it’s nice to know a good option is around when I need it.

DSC04349

Do you color your hair at home? Have you tried the L’Oreal Healthy Look Creme Gloss formula? What is your color? Let me know! 

P.S. Shout out to everyone who has been commenting lately! I love getting to meet new people on my blog! Comment with a link to your blog and an answer to a question above, and I’ll follow your blog! 🙂

Happy coloring!

Steffanie xo

 

3 thoughts on “Hair Dye at Home

  1. That color looks really good on you! 🙂 I’ve learned to love the ammonia-free hair dyes. They don’t make you want to pass out and they’re gentle on your hair. I have colored my hair a lot at home and I like the L’Oreal brand but haven’t tried that one yet. This last time I got my hair done at a salon. Anyways, thanks for the post. Love your hair 🙂
    http://prettyloved.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

