Foodie

On the Menu: Honey Glazed Salmon with Black Bean Corn Salad

DSC04466

I told you all in this post that I was trying out some new recipes, expanding my cooking skills, etc, and that I would share with you all some of the meals that were hits with our family. We had just bought a huge fresh salmon in our most recent grocery store trip, and I was looking for a new recipe to try it out with. Looking into my pantry, I saw a can of black beans that I had been ignoring waiting to use. I also had some frozen corn and lots of fresh spinach. So I did the most natural thing, and googled a recipe for all the aforementioned ingredients. This recipe, was the first one that I saw. It looked good, so I decided to give it a go.

I am not typically a bean person. At all. I actually really detest them. But, just like sunscreen is good for your skin, beans are good for your body. So I have been trying to eat them more. Not everyday, not even once a month (I picked all the beans out of my recent minestrone batch), but occasionally, I try to incorporate the dreaded bean into a meal or two. I am really surprised to say that the beans in this black bean corn salad actually are minimally noticed when combined with all the other ingredients. And that, for a non-bean lover, is a wonderful thing. 

DSC04462

The salmon is just slightly sweet, tender on the inside, and full of flavor. The salad is sweet due to the corn, but combined with the spinach, bell pepper and onion, it’s a savory little dish that is surprisingly filling. The salad alone would be a fantastic meal, and I have enough leftover for a nicely filling dinner tomorrow night. Score!

This meal was a huge hit for my husband. Being the protein-loving, low carb eater that he is, he was all over this recipe. So be rest assured that the men in your life will like it too.

Let me know if you give this recipe a try! Also, feel free to share some of your favorite recipes in comments. 

Steffanie xo

2 thoughts on “On the Menu: Honey Glazed Salmon with Black Bean Corn Salad

Leave a Reply

