Foodie

Food for Fall: Chicken Pot Pie and Scones

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

IMG_3109

I am a big fan of what the British call, nursery food. Pies, casseroles, breads, puddings, the lot. My husband is the opposite, opting for more of a fresh cute piece of meat and potatoes type of meal. We have found a happy medium between the two of us, but sometimes, when the weather is cold and dreary like it has been this weekend, he’ll switch to the side of the pies and request chicken pot pie. I’ll share this recipe, along with a scone recipe that made its lovely introduction to my kitchen this morning.

I used to be completely disgusted with chicken pot pie. I hated the soupy inside and I hated peas. The chicken always tasted fake, and it was always too salty for my liking. When I discovered Dinner A Love Story about 2 years ago, this chicken pot pie recipe was one of the first listed in the book. I ignored it, obviously, until about a year ago when we moved into our house. It was a dreary day, much like today, and we were both in the mood for a comforting dish. So I gave it a whirl. I peeled and chopped one small sweet potato, added some carrots and peas (gasp!) and shredded the meat of one rotisserie chicken, popped it in the oven, and voila! a recipe that forever changed my attitude toward the poultry pie. Delicious, comforting, hearty, and perhaps the best thing: not soupy! I’ve made this pie over a dozen times in the last year, for dinners with friends and family, and for a freezer meal for my sister in law when our sweet nephew had surgery. They’ve all loved it. This pie is perfection. Super easy to prepare, and freezes beautifully. Pot pie for the win!

I love scones, but I sometimes find them too sweet for my liking. British scones are ones I had yet to try making, so I pulled out my Jamie Oliver Food Revolution, some eggs, flour, and dried cranberries, and got to work. They were surprisingly easy to make, took less than 30 minutes, and are so delicious. I paired these with a hefty spoonful of blackberry jam that I bought at the Farmer’s Market, and a bit of whipped cream. I definitely prefer these to the sweeter scones, and put half a dozen in my freezer to save for a tasty breakfast or treat. (To convert measurements to US measurements, click here.) Both recipes linked above!

Let me know if you like nursery food, too! Also, any favorite recipes that you crack out in the fall? Comment below!

Steffanie xo

4 thoughts on “Food for Fall: Chicken Pot Pie and Scones

Leave a Reply

