Beauty

Makeup Additions

Fall is always such a great season for beautiful makeup. I always feel that the autumn makeup season is such a great one, because tons of products seem to launch like every week. Every time I pop into my local drugstore, something new has made an appearance. This post is about some new products I’ve tried, as well as some “new to me” products I’ve picked up recently.

DSC04870

One of the newest makeup additions I received this month was from my sister. For my birthday, she gave me the Urban Decay Naked Basics 2 palette! I was so incredibly excited about this gorgeous little palette. I am a huge fan of the original Naked Basics, being that the shades are so wearable, and it’s such a portable palette, so I was thoroughly excited about the second one! Naked Basics 2 is a more cool toned palette, while the first one was a more of a warm one. I typically go for warmer shades, but I do love a nice cool-toned neutral for fall. This palette has the same buttery, pigmented shades that Urban Decay is famous for. My favorite shades are Cover and Primal, and I like Skimp for a highlight. Beautiful palette!

DSC04872

DSC04873

A few other additions I picked up: Rimmel ScandalEyes Eyeshadow Stick in Bad Bronze. This shadow is surprisingly long-lasting, which is a beautiful thing for someone with oily eyelids. This is a perfect coppery-slightly reddy-toned eyeshadow, perfect for this season. With this shadow, I use a few good coats of the L’Oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions Waterproof Mascara to really define and lengthen my lashes, which this mascara is great for.

DSC04868

Now let’s talk about bases and concealers. I posted about the Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation a while ago, so I won’t drone on, but this foundation is perfect for those just getting into liquid foundations. It’s a medium coverage foundation, perfect for everyday wear. It’s quite a dewy finish, so I always use a bit of powder on days where I will be wearing it for a while. It has yet to break me out, and for the price, I am well happy with this product. Another base that I have been extremely happy with, that is on the pricier side, is the Nars Sheer Glow Foundation. I have heard so many beauty bloggers speak about how much they love this foundation, and I would say that the rave reviews are well deserved. This foundation is the epitome of the “your skin but better” look. Before I purchased it, I read loads of reviews on the Sephora website, and one thing I kept reading was that the name of the foundation is a bit misleading. Which I agree with. This foundation is not very sheer, being more of a medium to full coverage foundation, depending on how you build it up. That being said, I do find it to be glowy, and it makes your skin very dewy and fresh looking. It’s maybe a tiny bit matte when applied, but not very much at all. I love this foundation. The color match is perfect for me, and I really like how Nars accurately describes their shades. I really want to try the Nars Sheer Matte Foundation  now.

DSC04867

For concealers, I have been using two new ones. One is from Nyx, and it is their Above and Beyond Full Coverage Concealer, which reminds me of a dupe for the Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer. It’s slightly more powdery, which I like because of my oily skin. This concealer is great for covering up dark spots and dark circles. Another concealer I have given a try to is the Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer. I don’t find this to be very highlighting, but this concealer is great for under the eyes. I usually set mind with a bit of powder, being that’s very much a liquid concealer, but it works very well for under the eyes. Lastly, for powder, I have been loving the Nyx HD Studio Finishing Powder. This is very similar to the Bare Minerals Mineral Veil, which I used to love. It’s a colorless powder, keeping things very matte and in place. It’s a great powder (I’ve heard it’s a dupe for the Makeup Forever HD Microfinish Powder) and although it can be very messy to use, it’s my powder of choice at the moment.

Whew, that was a long one. Keep an eye out for some of my favorite new lip products soon! Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

Steffanie xo

One thought on “Makeup Additions

Leave a Reply

