Recent Reads #2

0134e7e43a0d5ee65db723dbf2f1d563b60212d51b

It’s no secret that I love a good book. It’s been a good while since I’ve done a book post on here, so I thought I’d share of my favorite recently read books. I must say, this one is quite the line-up.

01c6643d1ac426ee58e081f7f0ec88494eb1c27265

01f352596d564569fc84016ca0b6c655b60f69748a

01988f3cd1851eee4572a1b04d114e82a3cbe6d1ad

Nonfiction:

Yes Please by Amy Poehler: I have to start off with Amy Poehler. It must be done. I heard from several people over on the Faceboom, that this book was pure genius. So, naturally, I powered up my Nook, downloaded the free sample, laughed out loud for a solid thirty minutes, and bought the book the next day. Her book is called Yes Please and it’s the funniest, most honest, quirky book. I am reading it slowly, because I don’t want it to end. In this book she talks about her life so far, acting, divorce, babies, Tina Fey, and her childhood. I highly recommend anyone in the mood for a good laugh and maybe a tear to pick this up. Yes please, indeed.

A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg: Molly is the author of Orangette, the most beautiful food/lifestyle blog I’ve ever seen. Her photography is straight gorgeous. A Homemade Life, her memoir, isΒ what I believe encouraged my kick for cooking more meals at home. For a while, I felt I was in a serious rut when it came to cooking. Her book, though I haven’t made a single recipe from it, inspired me to crack out the ol’ cookbooks, and create some stories with my meals. It also really made me want to go to Paris, and induced a Nutella-baguette craving that I couldn’t ignore. She has another book out called Delancey that I am still on the hunt for.

YA/Fiction:

Where She Went by Gayle Forman: This book is the sequel to If I Stay, which I read about three-ish years ago. I can’t explain why I waited so long to read this one, other than that I didn’t want to really know what happened next. Mia and Adam are so all over the place, and maybe my heart wasn’t ready. I won’t go into any spoilers, but this book is so good. And I’m so glad I finally read it. I think I gobbled it up in about 3 days.

Just One Day by Gayle Forman: Um, Gayle is a freakin’ genius. A genius! She writes the most beautiful, heart-wrenching, addicting books. This one, set in Paris, the States, and Amsterdam, is a twisty, bittersweet, slightly confusing story between a girl and a boy. You may think “such is life” and that’s true, but this story had me hooked from start to finish. There is a sequel (squeeeeee!) and methinks I’ll pick it up this weekend.

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider: Hello, John Green in a woman’s body. This book made me angry for a while. I won’t tell you why, but if you tend to get emotionally involved in books, tears may be shed. You may feel like throwing the book, you may even do it, and realize you’ve thrown your Nook, which will cause slight amount of panic. It’s a great book, but it does not have a happy ending. Sigh.

We Were Liars by e. lockhart: I’m starting to see a theme here….I promise I don’t always read sad books so close together. But this one, oh my. Hands down, one of the best I’ve read this year. This one left a tiny hole in my heart for a few days. It’s one of those books that gives you that “something is not right now” feelings, all the way through. I haven’t re-read it, although I did love it, because it’s that good and that sad. I’m warning you now. Huge twist at the end.

Panic by Lauren Oliver: This one wasn’t great but wasn’t bad, and definitely got better towards the end. It’s centered around this game, this illegal, secretive game, that these students play to win money. Whoever survives, and completes all the challenges, wins a huge sum of money. Each character has a motive for the money, and each one has something to lose. Tigers are involved.

Mystery:

The Secret Place by Tana French: I am convinced she will never write a bad book. I own every book she has written in the Dublin Murder Squad Series. I really liked her first two books, The Likeness and In the Woods and every one since then has been definitely on par and well-written. Her books are the kind that incorporate personal stories into her characters, victims and suspects. They’re incredible. Great books for mystery-lovers.

Let me know in the comments if you have read any of these! I’d love your recommendations as well!

happy reading!

Steffanie xo

One thought on “Recent Reads #2

Leave a Reply

