The Best of 2014: Makeup

DSC05061

DSC05063

Hi all! So I thought it would be fun to do a “Best Of 2014” series on my blog, covering beauty, books/movies, and maybe a third category, but I am not sure yet. {Suggestions are welcome!} Today I’ll start with the makeup category, by laying out all of my favorite beauty bits from last year! Below, I listed all of my favorite products, the ones either discovered this year or that came out this year and I have been obsessed with. Enjoy!

DSC05071

Best Foundation: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Full Coverage Foundation– Just the best. For people with sensitive skin, or really any skin type, I urge you to try this foundation. Best ever.

Best Drugstore Foundation: Rimmel Match Perfection– I wore this the other day and fell back in love. The best 5 bucks I’ve ever spent on a makeup product.

Best Under-Eye Concealer: Bobbi Brown Corrector– seriously, if you struggle with dark circles, try this. at $25 for a tiny pot, I can honestly say this is the best under-eye product. Very brightening and conceals everything.

Best concealer: Maybelline FitMe Concealer- a creamy, easily blend-able concealer. Does a great job of making skin look flawless.

DSC05073

Best Powder: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light-a great setting powder if you want to ke

Best Blush: NYX Dusty Rose (not pictured, because mine is broken!)- I think I wore this blush like 90% of this year. Such a perfect, year-round blush.

Best Bronzer: Nars Laguna-A cult for a reason. Perfect, matte brown bronzer, adds just the right warmth.

Best Highlighter: The Balm Mary Lou Manizer Highlighter– I mean, just look at it, swatch it in store and buy it. It’s the most beautiful champagne highlighter I’ve ever seen/used.

DSC05074

Best Liquid Eyeliner: Maybelline Master Precise Liquid Liner in Black– I don’t even remember purchasing this product, that’s how long I have had it. But it works! I’ve only used this liquid liner all year, and I believe it is one of the best I have ever used.

Best Eye Palette: Too Faced Natural Eyes Palette- This was a more recent discovery, but I can guarantee you, I’ll be using this palette through next December. It has some of the best nudes I’ve ever seen on a eyeshadow palette.

Best Drugstore Eyeshadow: Maybelline Color Tattoo in ‘Creamy Beige’– Creamy, blendable and super long-lasting, this eye shadow is a perfect base for any eye color, or just on it’s own. It makes you look like you’ve done a lot more work in the shading, than you actually have done. Yes.

Best High End Mascara (not pictured because I don’t have it anymore!): Tarte Lights Camera Lashes Mascara– if I were going  to pay for a high-end mascara everytime I ran out, I would choose this one. It lenghthens, volumizes, and gives the best definition.

Best Drugstore Mascara: Maybelline The Rocket Volum’ Express Mascara– I’ve gone through about 5 tubes of this now, and I am still loving it!

DSC05076

DSC05085

Best lip products: {because seriously, who can pick just one?!}

Best Drugstore Formula: Revlon Matte Balm in “Striking” and “Sultry”. These matte balms are my favorite formula for a matte lip look. They’re easy to tote round, come in beautiful shades, and last forever! I don’t find them to be drying, and they are so easy to apply.

Best Lip Gloss: Maybelline Color Elixir in “Caramel Infused”- a perfect neural lip gloss. Love the formula of these, as they are very moisturizing and not sticky.

Best Neutral Lipstick: Maybelline Creamy Mattes in “Touch of Spice”– This is literally almost exactly the same color as the Revlon Matte Balm mentioned above, just slightly more rose-y toned. The formula of this lipstick is so weird and wonderful, being a creamy, moisturizing lipstick, in a matte finish. Best of both worlds in my book, or, er, makeup bag.

Best Red: MAC Retro Matte Ruby Woo– really, this should not surprise anyone. Ruby Woo is making an appearance on almost every makeup site and video, and for good reason. If you want a true matte, not going to budge, last all night lip formula, Ruby Woo is the one for you.

Leave a Reply

