Uncategorized

Best of 2014: Books

IMG_5862IMG_5863

The Secret Place by Tana French- I would read anything Tana French writes. Anything. Her mysteries are the only ones that truly envelop me, and I always enjoy reading her books. This one is quite a different setting from all the others, but the story is just as interesting and puzzling as her other books.

Just One Day by Gayle Forman- I am not sure why I haven’t yet picked up the sequel to this, but oh my. It was so good. I finished it in about a day.

FanGirl by Rainbow Rowell- As someone who grew up obsessed with all things Harry Potter and Doctor Who, it’s hard not to love a character who is obsessed with a story. It was my first introduction into the world of fan fiction, but the book was hilarious, sweet, and because I am a twin, made me a little more thankful for mine. Loved this book.

A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg – Memoirs are my favorite books. Hands down, favorite. I loved this one, because not only did it include delicious, fresh recipes, Molly’s way with details is so great. She makes you long for Paris and chocolat chaud and a good meal. Pretty sure I’ll read this again this year.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver – Why on earth I am just now reading Lauren Oliver’s stuff is beyond me. She’s brilliant. Delirium is a dystopian novel, with a bit of a twist.Imagine a world where love is thought to be a disease, where passion can literally kill you. So it is removed at a certain age, and you live forever “cured.” Classic boy-girl, catastrophic event, cliffhanger at the end sort of a story. I loved it so much, and I’m reading the sequel, Pandemonium, now.

Paper Towns by John Green – Can I just say how excited I am for this movie?! I can’t wait to see Nat Wolf play Q. The book was fantastic, and lovely, and confusing, and lovely. I love John’s work. Great book.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler – Hands down, the most hilarious book I read last year. Maybe even the funniest I’ve ever read. I love Amy Poehler.

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro – Mr. Ishiguro’s writing holds a certain reverance for me. It’s beautiful. I always struggle to describe his writing, but he is really one of the best out there. I urge you to read this, and Never Let Me Go if you haven’t.

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff – The most unique format of writing, being that the book has no quotation marks, but it is a novel. A YA novel at that. It’s such a beautiful story, about loss, and young love, and war, and a world away from normal.

Jesus, my father, the CIA and me by Ian Morgan Cron – Another great memoir. The story of the firecrackers still makes me laugh to this day.

Jesus Feminist by Sarah Bessy- Sarah Bessy is so hardcore, and I love her. Her writing is so educated and almost poetic, and inspiring. She is also a fellow Whovian, so that makes her even more awesome.

Crash the Chatterbox by Steven Furtick- For anyone who struggles with the negative voices from their childhood, or from the present, read this. Steven is one of my all time favorite pastors and speakers. This book changed a good deal of how I think about my faith, my inner voice, and God’s way of speaking to us.

Leave a Reply

