Lifestyle

The space.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Starting a new business has been so fun, and consuming, and has somehow seemed to increase my hours in the day. I stay up later, wake up earlier, and my brain is constantly on. I actually kind of love it, if I’m going to be honest. I love the pace, the work, and the purpose I feel. I love buying the supplies, making the calls, and doing the work.

When it comes to building a business, I know almost nothing, but I do know what a few things that I have learned from watching others, reading, and just from my own personal style of working. One of the things I have learned is to create a space for your work. Not your bed, not your couch. Create a room, a closet, a spot at the coffee shop, or the basement at your friend’s house, and get to work. Clean it up, organize it, and plan some time to get there.  I set up a work space in one of our spare rooms, and I only use that room for work. I have a desk, and a lamp, and a stapler, and all the materials I need to be organized and focused. Oh and also a teapot, because no work space is complete without tea on hand. It’s a must.

Another tip I have learned is that schedulaes are a must. If you stay at home, make a schedule for your day. Plan your lunch, turn off the TV, and get to work. And do it repeatedly, same time, everyday. Setting aside the time ensures that you will work everyday. If you work part-time to full-time hours somewhere else, obviously planning is a little more difficult but not impossible. I work part-time, and my hours are different from each other every day. With my husband working non traditional hours, scheduling gets a bit tricky at our house. But because I am Type A, we have three calendars, and I plan everything. I plan my MONAT hours, and my office hours. I plan grocery trips, coffee meet ups, and my lunch. I plan naps, sometimes, because naps make the world a better place. I plan downtime, which I honestly have not been great about lately, but I attempt to spend a good hour a day doing something I love, outside of work.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Now that I have my space, I find it much easier to stay organized and focused. Plus, it helps that Target makes the cutest office supplies, ever. If you have any tips on starting a business or would like to know more about my business, please let me know!

Happy organizing!

Steffanie xo

Leave a Reply

