Uncategorized

what fills me.

IMG_20150821_092540

Every once in a while, I like to do a post about my favorites. Favorite books I’ve recently read, places I’ve eaten, etc. This time, I want to do a post a little bit differently. I want to talk about those things that fill me in this season, that feed my soul and my mind. I don’t want to talk about my binge-watching sessions of Gilmore Girls (seriously, though, when I was a kid, I wanted to be Rory) or my love for takeout that has seemed to multiply this month. I want to talk about the stories I’ve read, the moments I’ve stolen with my husband, the good stuff.

The Books:

IMG_20150828_110911IMG_20150628_160218

Recently read: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews, The Good Stuff Devotional by Havilah Cunnington, Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider, Biography of Emily Bronte, Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, Jesus Feminist by Sarah Bessey (re-read)

I can’t go through a season well without a book in my hand, or on my table. It’s not possible for me. As I have always said, books are how I learn, how I digest life, how I grow. Stories teach me, allow me to process, and inspire me. Right now, I am reading For the Love by Jen Hatmaker. Jen Hatmaker is the funniest human being on this earth. Seriously, for Christmas, I may be passing this book along to every woman I know. She writes with such freedom and permission and honesty and I love it. Did I mention she’s hilarious? I am also currently (and slowly) reading Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen. Not my favorite of Miss Austen’s works, but I am liking it so far, and a biography of Emily Bronte. Towards the end of the month, I’m sure I’ll be devouring Ms. Jojo Moyes’ sequel to Me Before You

The Music: I am not by any means a music expert. But I love it, so I will share the music I am into right now.

  • Walk the Moon -Talking is Hard (Favorites from the album: “Avalanche”, “Shut Up and Dance”, “Different Colors”)
  • Johnnyswim- Diamonds (Favorites from the album: “Home”, “Take the World”, “Diamonds”)
  • The Lone Bellow – Self-Titled (2013), Then Came the Morning (Favorites: “Cold As it Is”, “Then Came the Morning”, “Two Sides of Lonely”)

IMG_20150826_185442

The Moments:

My favorite moments almost always consist of food consumption.  That’s how I roll, and I am totally not ashamed. The hubs and I have been trying to find new places to eat, and one of our newest favorites is Hummus Cafe in Moore. We stopped in there on a spontaneous date night after a quick trip to the eye doctor. The gyro sandwich is my favorite, while the hubs opts for the gyro platter most times. So good. We also tried out Picasso Cafe (he hadn’t ever been) and their lobster po’ boy was to die for.

IMG_20150815_225000

In the middle of August, we took a trip down to Ardmore to celebrate some of our good friends getting married. Their wedding was beautiful, and sweet, and they had donuts for the groom’s wedding cake. YES. We recently met up with the newlyweds for dinner as well, stopping in at McNellie’s (the club sandwich is the best one anywhere!) and Gray Owl Coffee (one of my favorites–although, they were playing music you might hear in a morgue while we were there. Not sure what that was about.)

IMG_20150809_164640

The hubs and I are into antiques, so one afternoon we drove to Norman and went to Robinsons Repurposed off Main St. They have two shops, one right across the street from the other, and we browsed through old trunks, wardrobes, and tables. After the antique-ing, we went to Guest Room Records, and grabbed sandwiches for a late lunch.

The Blogs/Writing/Inspiration:

  • http://www.theworkofthepeople.com ( I love watching Sarah Bessey, and Shauna Niequist)
  • When Sarah Bessey writes about praise, her new house, and calling.
  • Cranny + Me blog. So beautiful. Her home is my dream home. The girl has minimalist decorating DOWN. Another reason I love her blog: they have not owned a TV for about 10 years! We recently decided to get rid of our TV, and are going to try a season without it. To read Sara’s insight and how it has affected her family, read here.
  • Sarah Robbins (I’m noticing the theme with people named Sarah here…) for all network marketing expertise. The girl is knowledgeable and I love how insanely inspired she is.
  • Olivia Cooke talking about Me and Earl and The Dying Girl movie:

And finally, I’ll leave you with this snippet of a poem by Mary Oliver:

“When it’s over, I want to say: all my life
I was a bride married to amazement.
I was the bridegroom, taking the world into my arms.

When it is over, I don’t want to wonder
if I have made of my life something particular, and real.
I don’t want to find myself sighing and frightened,
or full of argument.

I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.”

Leave a Reply

