Stephen King & Pancakes

IMG_20160904_103814.jpg

Hey lovelies!

I’ve been tucked away reading a few books recently, and I thought I’d share those with you. Now, I’m the kind of person who reads about 2-3 books at one time. I typically like to pick one non-fiction, one self-help/improvement/spirituality type, and one fiction, to keep it interesting.  Currently, I am reading one writing book, and one fiction, because that fiction book is kind of a beast.

Non-Fiction: Still Writing by Dani Shapiro

I typically read this in the morning, with my coffee and my pancakes. I like to start my day with inspirational writing if I can, to get the wheels turning. This book is so practical and full of such great tips on writing, specifically how to get started. She talks about the physical side of writing: the space you write in, what you need to get started, the anxiety that inevitably will find you. I have read a couple writing books, and this has been by far my favorite because it is so practical. I’ve been highlighting the mess out of it.

2016-09-04 17.06.14.jpg

Fiction: 11-22-63 by Stephen King

I recently posted on my Instagram about starting my first Stephen King novel and so many people commented about how much they loved 11-22-63. Seriously, how have I gotten to my mid twenties without reading at least ONE Stephen King novel? Crazy. When I was researching his books, I came upon a blog post from Laura Tremaine, from hollywoodhousewife.com. She said that it was one of her very favorite books written by Mr. King, and because I basically want to be her, I started it. (Sidenote: she is a co-host on the most amazing podcast show, Sorta Awesome Podcast with Megan Tietz. They are both from OK, Laura now living in LA, and Megan in OKC. So cool!) Definitely check it out. It’s fantastic.)

Okay, back to 1963.

“Following his massively successful novel Under the Dome, King sweeps readers back in time to another moment—a real life moment—when everything went wrong: the JFK assassination. And he introduces readers to a character who has the power to change the course of history.”

I was intrigued at first by the title, because I find the Kennedy’s so intriguing. The family, the assassination, the presidency: I love them. (Another sidenote: The Kennedy’s mini series with Katie Holmes is the best!) I was super interested to see how he incorporated that huge event, into a fiction novel, and I have not been disappointed. Now, this book is long. Like 853 or more pages long, so I haven’t gotten super far into the story, only 200 or more pages in, but seriously, this book is turning me into quite the Stephen King fan. And it doesn’t just surround the Kennedy story, which I also loved because I wasn’t expecting so many layers to this book. It’s well-written, funny, and thrilling. I literally said “Oh my gosh!! Oh no!” like seven times this morning when I was reading one of the more action packed scenes. His writing pulls you into the world and keeps you there, which I love, because I like to be immersed when I read. I’ve found myself thinking about this story whenever I’m not reading it, wondering where Mr. Epping/Mr. Amberson is going next. Great choice if you’re a Stephen King newbie.

Just a sneak peek into what I am reading at the moment. Any good books you’ve read recently?

Steffanie xx

Leave a Reply

