Best Books of 2016

23-struggles-only-book-nerds-will-understand-2-23833-1426177348-13_dblbig

I read so many good books this year, most of those books having been read in the last half of the year. I don’t know what it is about Summer and Fall that makes one want to read, but I went on a book binge the last half of this year.

One of my goals for 2017 is to be more organized with my reading. To create more space for reading, and to read a wide range of books. This year, I read randomly, in spurts. I devoured book after book for one month and didn’t read a new one for two months. Next year, I’d like to develop more of a rhythm. I’m currently finishing up one book for 2016 (Perfect Murder, Perfect Town by Lawrence Schiller) and am working on my list for next year, but I wanted to share my most favorite reads from this year. These are in no particular order, but I will say the first one is a must-read for everyone.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi: This book will make you cry. There is no getting around it. It’s a story about Paul Kalanithi, a neurosurgeon who was diagnosed with lung cancer. He gives you an inside look at cancer, along the way, providing you a look at life as a doctor and a patient. He talks about his career, his life as a neurosurgeon, a husband, and eventually a father. It’s beautiful, raw, and moving. By far, the best book I read this year.

Columbine by Dave Cullen: I wrote a whole post over this one, so I won’t go into it in detail, but this book is fantastic. Definitely hard to read, and may not be for highly-sensitive types, but good if you want an accurate account of Columbine and it’s happenings.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty: So many people love Liane Moriarty, and I am still on the fence about her. Her writing is good, but it’s not super interesting to me. However, Big Little Lies was a great, quick read. Loved the pacing, and the characters. I’d love your recommendations on her best books.

Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequist: Oh, Shauna. This was my favorite book of hers. So honest, so GOOD. This book will be CHURCH to some of you. I’ve recommended this to like everyone I know.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling: This book is hilarious, and crazy, and makes me love Mindy Kaling even more. Also, made me crave McDonald’s like hardcore. Would be a fun beach read. Didn’t love her second book as much.

11-22-63 by Stephen King: This was my fist Stephen King novel and I am so glad I read it. Stephen King is a genius storyteller. This book was my favorite fiction novel I read this year. Intriguing, suspenseful, funny, and the characters were fantastic. Highly recommend.

After You By JoJo Moyes: All I can say about this is read it. I avoided this book for so long because Me Before You wrecked me, but I am very glad I ended up reading it. If you have hesitations, read it anyway. It’s a good one.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell: I almost forgot about this one. I didn’t read a ton of YA novels this year, but I LOVED this one. Rainbow Rowell somehow manages to create a story that feels so real, so encompassing and so honest, all at once. Fangirl was an absolute favorite of mine, but E&P is tied for me. The characters are very well written. I have her book Carry On on my nightstand, but I’m not super into it yet, so I may end up trying that one again, next year. If you haven’t read Rainbow Rowell yet, do it.

Books I started but quit:

The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey, One Plus One by Jojo Moyes (I will give this another chance, I just forgot I had started it because I started 11-22-63 by Stephen King), 13 Hours (just watch the movie), Carry On ย by Rainbow Rowell (somehow this isn’t intriguing me at all?), Brooklyn by Colm Tolbin, and Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King (kind of hated this book.)

What are you reading next year, and what do you recommend from this year?

Steffanie xx

Leave a Reply

